What snowmobile brand?

General Discussions: ASK John: What snowmobile brand?

By olsmann on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 01:09 pm: Edit Post

I know this might start a fire storm and maybe you dont want to answer, but after reading your review of the yamaha, Would you ever switch brands? Or maybe a better way to ask without causing controversy is to ask, who out there makes a sled (08 models) that you feel (just say money not being and option) fits the bill the best for the type of riding you do?(your dream sled) I know sooner or later you will have to upgrade and either way 3/4s of the people are gonna disagree with you. I just got the feeling that your were suprised about the yamis performance and wondered if it got your wheels turning?

By admin on Monday, February 11, 2008 - 01:39 pm: Edit Post

Switching brands for me would be no problem. I think folks misread the fact that I have been riding a Polaris of one type or another for the past 9 years as being brand loyal. Truth is, the first Polaris I got (94 XLT) just happened to be a sled that was in great shape and available to me at a good price. The next- the 03 700 RMK was sort of the same situation. Just a sled that was available to me at a really good price. I did choose the 05 800 RMK because I had become familiar with the ride of the 700 and also knew how to fix a lot of things on them.

However, I could have just as easily been on a SkiDoo or Arctic Cat these past several years and a Yamaha before they went to all 4 stroke. While I think the jump to all 4 strokes for Yamaha was a bold and good move, it just did not work with the type of sledding I do (boondocking). That was until I rode this latest sled.