PDA

View Full Version : UP Lake Gogebic vs. Minocqua

schweppes1
10-20-2009, 09:42 AM
My buddies and I have been sledding in the UP (Lake Gogebic are) for the past several years. We have really enjoyed the sledding and snow conditions of the UP. However, this year some of the guys have mentioned that they want to change things up a bit and are suggesting that we sled in the Minocqua/Eagle River area. We are planning the trip in late January or sometime in February.

Other than the riskier snow conditions, I would appreciate any feedback on the types of trails and conditions, density of sledders, accomodations, restaurants and things to do at night vs. what we have been used to in the UP.

Thanks

mustardbucket2
10-20-2009, 10:53 AM
The trails in the Minocqua/Eagle River area can take you just about anywhere, and there is usually more than one route to get someplace. There are more trails to ride - from state corridors to lesser used club trails - than what is available in the UP. You can find RR grades to ride fast and also tight twisty trails in the Min/ER area, so you can ride whatever fits your style. Traffic can be a problem on weekends on the main trails, since it is a popular area to ride. Combine the traffic with less snow, and the trails can get worn out quickly - but Minocqua grooms daily. Typically, there is more snow the farther north of Minocqua that you go, but not always. We try to avoid going during Derby week in ER, since it is crowded.