PDA

View Full Version : Need info from those who go out west, first trip to Togwotee

dekx
11-17-2009, 05:18 AM
Ok, I booked a trip out west for the first time, and have a few questions for you guys that have been out there:

First, I am out there for 5 days. The first day I am doing Yellowstone with a guide, second day will be off trail with a guide and the rest of the trip I have the option of have a guide or not. SO the question I have, on those other days I am wanting to ride mostly trails due to the partner that is going with me. Are the trails pretty easy to navigate, are they well marked...I know stops are far and few in between but can it be done on my own? I've been riding the great lakes region since 1988 and have no issues navigating my way on these trails.

Secondly, I am wanting to get maps in my hand from Wyoming, Idaho, and Montana but the only ones I could find are printable ones in a PDF file where i would rather have an actual map in my hand. Anyone know where I can get these?

Any and all help will be appreciated and I thank those that answer in advance.

admin
11-17-2009, 05:38 AM
The trails are very well marked and you should not have any problems navigating them by yourself. Just be mindful of the weather. Should a good storm blow in, visibility will drop to near zero in the open meadows and that would present some real challenges and potential dangers.

They have printed maps for the CDST (Togwotee) trail system. I would call the lodge and see if they can send you one. If not, ask them how to get one. They do carry them at the lodge, so if you don't need one until you get there, you will be fine.

Have fun!

-John

dekx
11-18-2009, 03:13 AM
John,
Thanks alot for the fast response, I can't wait!

longtrack
11-24-2009, 08:53 AM
Wyoming will send out Maps for all areas on request.

machz120
11-24-2009, 10:50 AM