PDA

View Full Version : Fine in Marinette county



Genia
10-15-2010, 11:53 AM
Up atving last weekend. Around Silver Cliff. We got pulled over by a Marinette Forest guy for going about 25 mph when it is posted 10 mph near this guys cabin (out in the middle of nowhere, not in town) . Long story short, we got a ticket yesterday in the mail - $200!!!! Is this the going rate?? Seemed quite high to me. The ticket we received in the mail didn't even have the speeds listed - what the limit was, what we were doing, how much over...I guess the guy that owns the place has been complaining alot about the dust so they are cracking down. Any thoughts on this??

wilson
10-15-2010, 01:40 PM
the punishment doesn't fit the crime. it's just revenue enhancement!

scott_b
10-15-2010, 04:36 PM
My 5mph over the limit (60 in a 55) on M28 just East of Ironwood cost me $105. Sounds fishy that that ticket didn't have any details on it but I would say that $200 for 15 over is in line with the fine used on the roads.

skidoodragon
10-16-2010, 07:16 PM
10 mph? jerk -jerk- jerk with clutch engagement! What if you were in a car, I know it might not be a car worthy road but probably dif story. Sorry if I offend anyone but come on $200!

eao
10-16-2010, 08:18 PM
Its going to cost even more once your insurance company gets wind of it. If you are a Wisconsin resident it will cost you 4 pts on your license for 15 over, 3 in Michigan.


Wisconsin's attitude is that speeders are dangerous drivers, so I can see why the fine ist high.
* Speeding 1 to 10 mph over the limit 3 points
* Speeding 11 to 19 mph over the limit 4 points
* Speeding 20 mph or more over the limit 6 points

catalac
10-17-2010, 11:46 AM
So how many points can you get? Do they yank your lic. or what?

dragon_07
10-17-2010, 11:47 AM
How would this apply to a sport quad without a speedometer? I typically stay with our four wheel drives that have the speedos but if I was in the lead or alone? I understand if you went screaming by, but the scenario described seems a bit much.

eao
10-17-2010, 01:46 PM
So how many points can you get? Do they yank your lic. or what?

You bet and insurance companies base your rates on them.


http://www.legis.state.wi.us/statutes/Stat0346.pdf

If you don't have a speedometer, that's your problem as far as the law is concerned. You still must obey the speed limit.

lt250rfd
10-18-2010, 02:56 PM
Up atving last weekend. Around Silver Cliff. We got pulled over by a Marinette Forest guy for going about 25 mph when it is posted 10 mph near this guys cabin (out in the middle of nowhere, not in town) . Long story short, we got a ticket yesterday in the mail - $200!!!! Is this the going rate?? Seemed quite high to me. The ticket we received in the mail didn't even have the speeds listed - what the limit was, what we were doing, how much over...I guess the guy that owns the place has been complaining alot about the dust so they are cracking down. Any thoughts on this??

buddy got a $170.20 fine for rolling a stop sign. i was leading the group and saw him sitting so through my hand up to get everyone to stop, everyone in group stopped but one. we felt the fine was steep but guess it was a problem intersection, said he wrote 8 already before we came through.

3232
11-09-2010, 04:36 PM
You guys are all way off here. These tickets you get on an ATV or even snowmobile don't go on your driving record. An OWI on a atv or snowmobile doesn't either. You could get a OWI on an ATV then the next week get one in your car and that'd still be your first offense. Rec vehicles don't go on your driving record so all this insurance talk is just crap. They won't even know you got a ticket. As how this thread started out.....yea that ticket is way high in price. It wasn't a Sheriff's Deputy because I work for MRSO and on all our rec patrols. We weren't out then aso it musta been one of our older forest patrol guys. Take it to court! I bet he never went to radar school.....you could maybe get it tossed. We get so many complaints from people about this and that we have to do what we can to stay on top of things. We love our tourists and what they bring up here. I agree it sucks when you get a ticket. Just know the guys giving them don't decide the amount. That is decided by the county or state board people.

longtrack
11-10-2010, 09:22 AM
3232, Your comment may be correct for Wisconsin, but remember this is a Michigan based site and Michigan Rec Vehicle DUI does count on your MI Drivers License.

3232
11-10-2010, 10:47 AM
Ok,...yea that I don't know about. I should have been more clear and was speaking just for WI.