Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Default Wiring a wood stove blower?

    I have an older Ashley woodstove with blower on it. Wiring is something I have minimal experience in. The blower motor has a black,red, and white wire coming out of it, I bought a wire and plug thinking I could just wire it and plug it in for the blower to come on, its just for the sled shed/ garage so the simpler the better. The plug has white,black, and green wires. I tried black to black, white to white, and green to red but nothing happened. The thermostat was not wired when I got it and I not worried about that just need to plug it in.What should I do?

  2. #2

    Default

    Not to be a smart *** but please call an electrician. I couldn't begin to tell you the things I use to run into doing side jobs. Either the homeowner rigged something up, or they had a maintenace guy from some plant rig something up. No offense to any maintenace guys on here, but most do not know the electrical code and half a** something to work like they do in their plant. As long as it works...right??? Do yourself a favor and call a licensed electrician.

  3. #3

    Default

    All I will tell you is that the green wire is the ground, and you should not be doing electrical work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Boulder Junction ,WI.
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    If you keep one hand in your pocket and are not standing in water , there a 99.9 chance you WONT get electricuted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minster, Ohio Have a cabin on Rifle Lake in Rose City Mi.
    Posts
    11

    Default Trick/Track

    The green wire is your ground. This should be connected to your stove on a bare metal area with a screw or to another green ground wire.
    The white wire is your common, always white to white.
    The black wire is your hot wire or load wire.
    Red is has some thing to do with your temp control.
    Since you tried blk to blk and wht to wht and no blower working.
    I would try blk and red to your blk on your plug, this might bypass your temp control. Not seeing a wiring diagram its hard to tell.

    Pat

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illnoise
    Posts
    286

    Default

    More than likely its a two speed blower motor dat youse got dere red be'n low and black be'n high,,, butt that would surely be a unedjucated guess without see'n test'n or cobb'n sumpt'n together just to make it werk...So I'd just hire an electrician that can't spell Maintenance...

  7. #7

    Default

    Opps...forgot the "n" in maintanerance. Did I get it right theis time?

    But seriously have a licensed electrician do it for you.

  8. #8

    Default

    Well I really appreciciate that you guys care out there but ive got a bad habit of doing it myself. I guess I just like to learn something everytime I challenge myself. And possibly I dont like to swallow my pride but most of all Im too stingy with my money to hire an electrician for something so simple. The problem I was having right infront of my face. Somebody had cut the ground wire coming out of the motor and it was in conduit so I didnt know until I traced it back. The black is high speed, the red is low speed, and a white common.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milton, WI and Rockland, MI
    Posts
    191

    Default

    I would not call an licensed electrician for something that simple! The cost to have him come out would be more than the blower. Not everyone can just throw cash around.

    What is wrong with wanting to learn something? That is a huge problem nowadays! We have become simple.

    Furthermore, if you were to wire the blower wrong it would not work, or the breaker will trip. Then the motor will be shot more than likely! Go out and buy a new one and it would still be cheaper than getting a licensed electrician!

    I'm glad you figured it out Polaris! It feels good to learn something doesn't it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illnoise
    Posts
    286

    Default

    If ya reread my post with known inserted riddled sarcasm you'll now see the answer you seek...

    Now also to back up the spell check'n electrician here as to guess'n how to wire it by it will only trip the breaker method or it simply won't work method...This would be correct but improperly grounding or wiring a circuit would increase your chances of be deceased and as something so simple to me may not be to you...

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    654

    Default

    Good call on the DYI. I've done all my home elect, w biggest swapping fuse to circut. Why pay someone else to come out just to twist a few wires together !

    Friends call me ****Sparky****

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milton, WI and Rockland, MI
    Posts
    191

    Default

    In my opinion, if you have a problem figuring something out, doing a little research by all means pay someone to do it for you! That someone will be glad to take a couple hundred off you for a couple second job!!

    If you love throwing cash around, I'll take some off your hands! I wouldn't blow it though! I'd spend it in the UP snowmobiling!

    The guy asked for an opinion on how to wire a blower! Not asking for someone to sound like a Mommy! If you can't help then leave your comments to yourself...
    Last edited by cdsprague; 12-17-2009 at 04:39 PM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illnoise
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Yep as long as the wire says 600 volts ya should be good dere...

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yamadooed View Post
    Yep as long as the wire says 600 volts ya should be good dere...
    That is completely not true!!!!!! You need to size the wire according to the overcurrent protection (ie=breaker).

    15amp breaker= #14 wire
    20amp breaker= #12 wire
    30amp Breaker= #10 wire

    The 600volt wire rating is for the outer jacket of the wire. It does not determine it's ability to withstand a certain amount of amperage flowing thru it and ultimately melt (or burn) the wire and cause a house fire. Also keep in mind some devices (appliances) require the wire to be derated which increases the size of the required wire. Also some devices (appliances) require the wire to be rated over a certain percentage of the amperage listed on the devices nameplate.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illnoise
    Posts
    286

    Default

    I wouldn't worry bout dem amps much dats watt dem breakers iz fer... Besides the more resistance yer get'n the more heat yalls get which in turn saves ya on wood...

  16. #16

    Default

    Lol...I know your just kidding...right? Ahhh who cares! Bon fire at your place!

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Trick Track has it right..

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Illnoise
    Posts
    286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by formula5 View Post
    Trick Track has it right..
    50% and at most skools thats not pass'n...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Burlington,WI in summer Lake Linden,Mi in winter
    Posts
    127

    Default

    just shut the breaker off twist some wires of the same color together and turn the breaker back on your good togo.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

» Adsense

» October 2014

S M T W T F S
282930 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31 1

» Stats

Members: 18,482
Threads: 27,435
Posts: 281,625

» Online Users: 119

2 members and 117 guests
Most users ever online was 533, 01-23-2012 at 02:10 PM.

» Today's Birthdays

howie99 (47)
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.2.1