Thread: CNC Machinists

Default CNC Machinists

In case you don't know me by now, I'm 16 yrs old, like to work on snowmobiles and trucks, and I'm very good at math. I've been wanting to be a CNC machinist for the past 2 years. Next year, I have the opportunity to do a youth apprenticeship at a machine shop for the 9 months of school. You work 6am-10am, then I'd have to hike on over to my high school and take a few more classes (I only need an english and social studies class to graduate). When the youth apprenticeship is over, you could possibly be offered a formal apprenticeship, and get your schooling paid for at my local technical college. So what I guess I'm asking here is, are there any CNC Machinists out there? What do you like about your job? And, what don't you like about your job? Did you go through an apprenticeship or not? And if you did, would you do it again or do it differently?

Thanks!

I graduated High School in 92 and started an apprenticeship through the tooling and manufacturing association (TMA) to be a moldmaker.I became a junior moldmaker,and then started leaning towards CNC programing.I started off being a parts changer,set ups etc...I learned Mastercam and spent some good years running Mazaks,Moris,Okuma..etc..I ended going back to the bench to be a moldmaker. Moldmaking and die shops set up to have programmers and operators. I couldnt be a programmer(allready had two) and being a moldmaker paid better than being an operator.I allways made real good money in the trade.It was never repetative.Youre allways learning and the technology never stops flowing.The hours wore on me (55 to 60 week)good money but not a lot of time to enjoy myself.